SU Author Interview – MsKathy

MsKathy author of The Discovery of Bella Swan

1. What does BDSM stand for? although I love MTK’s answer, I am ripping this straight from Wikipedia:

bondage and discipline (B&D, B/D, or BD), dominance and submission (D&s, D/s, or Ds), sadism and masochism (S&M, S/M, or SM).


2. What is your experience with BDSM (in or out of fanfic)?

It would honestly take me too long to detail my real-life experience, but let’s just say it’s extensive. I identify as a switch and have spent time in every variation of BDSM relationship from casual players with people to 24/7 full-time TPE (total power exchange).

In fanfic, I just love to write saucy characters that happen to enjoy BDSM, sprinkled with some real-life experiences that I fictionalized, and those you can find in Yes Mistress and Something New.

3. If you could give one tip to new writers what would it be? ( this can be about BDSM or just a general tip)

I feel wholly unqualified to tell anyone how to write, but I suppose my tip would be just do it. Dive in, tell yourself you’re going to write 500 words, and do it.

4. What is the biggest issue you see in smut writing today?

Hmmm, probably word choice, but there are things out there for everyone, so I just avoid the authors/stories that I know have words I don’t care for. A lack of real-life experience can be frustrating and glaringly obvious at times, as well.

5. How do you come up with ideas for your stories?

I find inspiration everywhere, and sometimes the smallest thing can inspire me to outline a story, even if I might never write it. Mostly, though, I find the ideas in photographs and from people watching. I’ve always built their stories in my head, I just share them with more people now.

6. What is the writing process like for you?

I love sitting at my desk for designated blocks of time to write. I enjoy friendly word challenge competitions with close friends in small settings. I sit at my desk, I almost never write anywhere else, and I listen to music and browse photos if I get stuck, and I just let my fingers fly.

7. Anything else you wanna say, about anything:

I really, really loved MTK’s response about being in touch with your body and your feelings! Spot on. I also just want to say thank you to everyone who has sent in questions and is participating, and PTB for asking us.

Being a part of the fandom has touched me in ways I never expected (I don’t mean like that, pervs). I’ve made lifelong friends, and I’ve gotten to write very personally rewarding stories. Thank you for allowing me to share my words with y’all, and for reading and enjoying them.

8. If you have something that you are not happy with in a chapter, what do you do to make it better?

Most of the time, I let it sit. I find that if I give myself time to think about what’s bugging me, I can figure out how to fix it. If that doesn’t work, I will ask a few trusted friends to pre-read — sometimes I tell them what’s bothering me and sometimes I don’t, to see their reaction without my influence.

9. In your opinion why are ppl so uncomfortable when it comes to BDSM fics?

Oooh. I’m going to guess the question means when it comes to reading BDSM fics? I’m not sure, really, as I haven’t encountered many people uncomfortable reading them, but if I had to take a stab, I would say that the line between BDSM and abuse is thin in some circumstances, and any time you write something where people volunteer their bodies for pain, it can be confusing if you’ve never felt that proclivity. Especially, in my experience, for men, who were raised thinking it was never okay to hit a woman, BDSM sort of turns that on its ear and makes people really question what is and isn’t okay.

The other thing, I think, is that BDSM causes people to evaluate their own sexuality, and some people aren’t comfortable with that. It can be a challenging process to think about what you THOUGHT you knew about yourself for 20, 30, 40, 50 years, and then sort of disassemble and re-evaluate it.

Leave a Reply

